Answered

Sonos Connect W/ Sonos Beam

• 27 March 2019
  • 3 replies

Badge
I currently have a Sonos Beam set up of course as the sound bar for my TV. I also have an Audio Technica turntable with a built in pre-amp. Basically, I have two questions:

1.) Would a Sonos Connect or ZP90 (I've seen some used for cheaper) allow me to play my turntable on the Beam? I've read somewhere that the Beam isn't compatible with the Connect or ZP90 so I wanted to see if that was accurate information. I can't afford a Play5 so I'm trying to see if this option would work?

2.) I also hope within the year to purchase a couple of Sonos One speakers to link with the Beam for surround sound. Will I have any issues with the Connect or Zp90 working the turntable (and surround sound) once I expand?

Is there anything else I should be aware of?

I'm new to Sonos and new to comprehensive audio equipment in general, so I appreciate the help.
icon

Best answer by melvimbe 27 March 2019, 14:15

View original

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

3 replies

I currently have a Sonos Beam set up of course as the sound bar for my TV. I also have an Audio Technica turntable with a built in pre-amp. Basically, I have two questions:

1.) Would a Sonos Connect or ZP90 (I've seen some used for cheaper) allow me to play my turntable on the Beam? I've read somewhere that the Beam isn't compatible with the Connect or ZP90 so I wanted to see if that was accurate information. I can't afford a Play5 so I'm trying to see if this option would work?

Yes, that will work. What you may have heard is people trying to use a Connect to 'power' surround speakers (through a third party amp) . That doesn't work. Your Connect would be setup as separate room, which can be grouped with your Beam.