sonos amp as front and Ones as rear surround with turn table

• 29 December 2021
  • 5 replies

Hi,

I’m new to the Sonos game and have a question about the Sonos AMP.

I currently have:

• pair of Sonos Ones
  • TV with an HDMI-ARC port
  • Turntable connected to a kenwood amplifier with line out
  • pair of 8ohm passive speakers

What I would like to do is use a Sonos AMP to:

• connect TV to HDMI-ARC port
  • connect passive 8ohm speakers to sonos amp to be used as FRONT surround speakers
  • use pair of sonos ones to be REAR surround speakers
  • connect line out from turntable to line in on sonos amp
  • maybe add a 3rd party powered sub to the sonos amp later
  • still be able to use airplay 2 to send music to the sonos system

Do you have confirmation that this configuration will work? Can it all stay in surround mode (with the sonos amp as the FRONT speakers and sonos ones as the rear surround speakers)? Will I be able to switch between TV HDMI-ARC connection and sonos amp line in connection either by auto detection or through the sonos app?

Thanks for your help! Rock on!

5 replies

Userlevel 7

Yes, everything you mentioned will work with that setup. Be sure your turntable has a built-in phono preamp. If you want “auto detection” enable TV Autoplay and set up the Line-In Autoplay under the Amp’s settings.

Thanks for the quick reply! That sounds like a great option that will work.

My other option that I see is:

• Beam for TV and front surround
  • pair of ones for rear surround
  • a single sonos Five for line in and “extra” speaker

In this setup however, how does the sonos Five get integrated into the “surround” setup if the beam is doing the fronts and the ones are doing the rears? Can the sonos Five be integrated? or not really in the same “configuration” or “room”?

I guess the other option would be:

• sonos port for turntable line in