Skip to main content
Answered

I bought a new house with a Sonos system and I can't connect to it.

Hello.

We bought a house recently. The previous owner gave us a good discount on her Sonos system [not that we really wanted it, but we really did not want holes and useless cables in the walls].

The sound bar under the TV connects to the TV via the optical cable and works well. The two ceiling speakers are silent. There is a Connect:Amp in the basement.

I am looking for guidance on what to do now, please. I am clueless. Do I call Sonos? What’s the number?

I have WiFi but, obviously, it’s not the same as the previous owner had.

Please treat me as a complete newbie, because I am. What do I do?

Thank you very much!!!

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

11 replies

Factory reset each unit: https://support.sonos.com/en-us/article/reset-your-sonos-product

Then download the Sonos app, temporarily wire one unit to the router via ethernet, open the app and choose to setup a new system.  Once you enter the new wifi credentials, you can the disconnect the Ethernet and add the rest of the system.

There’s a couple of things I’d recommend. First, a factory reset of all the Sonos devices. That way, you can erase all settings the previous owner had set up, and register each device to your own account. Second, I’d download the Sonos app (not sure which one you need S1 or S2, it depends on the devices in your system), and follow the instructions in the app to set up a new system. See the https://support.sonos.com/en-us/article/creating-your-sonos-account

FAQ. 

Edit: @jgatie types faster…

Thank you! Just measured all the distances to the closest router (I have a few google repeaters). Ordered 50 ft CAT6 cable, arrives on Tuesday. That’s 10ft more than the longest cable run=should be plenty.

This Tuesday I will:

1. perform a factory reset