Buying Play:1 just to familiarize myself with the ecosystem - does that make sense? (what to pay attention to /software/hardware?)

• 3 January 2024
  • 16 replies

Badge +1

Hello,

I plan to buy multiroom audio system, but I am a novice in this area. Because the final project (several rooms) is going to take a significant budget, I would like to try it first with something cheap (Play:1 speaker).

I know that it is not a new model, so I wonder what kind of limitations I can expect - does the new application on Android will work? Do they still pull firmware upgrades for the speaker? Something else?

Thanks in advance!

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

16 replies

Play:1 is compatible with the S2 system , you can control via the android app, and will get firmware upgrades.  You would an iphone to do tuning though.   If you are looking at features like voice control, connecting to TV, bluetooth, aux input, or atmos, then this won’t help you much.

Sonos does have a 45 day return policy, so it might make more sense to buy a current model to test out the features and see if it fits your needs.

Badge +1

If I read the information online correctly, the speaker sold by Ikea (Symfoniks gen 2) is based on Play:1 - this would ensure (if that is true) that Play:1 will be further supported to some extent :-)

Badge +1

One more question for Play:1 - what is used during initial setup with app - WiFi? BLE Bluetooth? I mean how the app is finding the speaker?

The PLAY:1 is ancient tech, in Sonos terms. At the time it was being manufactured, I don’t think BLE was a thing yet. My recommendation would be to initially set it up with an Ethernet cable to your router, then after it is set up, add the network information in the controller, disconnect the cable, and place it where you want in your WiFi network.