Answered

ROAM: disappears in app when on, reappears when off

• 12 July 2022
  • 1 reply

I found another user who had a similar problem to mine, but the topic was closed a year ago without a satisfactory solution! So I am resubmitting it with a few slight changes in the details.

----------

Hi, I’ve been using Sonos since 2009 with few issues but I’m having a problem with my Roam that is frustrating, unpredictable and seems to have no solution other than to wait for it to sort itself out.

The Roam is visible as “offline” when it is switched off but is not visible in the S2 app when switched on. It’s clearly still connected to the network in some way as the app shows when it’s switched off (visible in the app) and it disappears when it’s switched on. It can also replay the last music that was played on it by pressing the play/pause button, and given that the current album is stored on the network it clearly still has access to the network. I have tried changing the channel, resetting the router etc. but the problem persists. I have tried on multiple devices and the same problem occurs. I am not using a mesh or range extender so this is not the issue. I’m using a Synology RT2600ac (in a mesh with three MR2200ac access points) with no issues and strong signal throughout the house, including the rooms that I have tried the Roam in.

The problem sometimes goes away, in which case I’m able to change the music, but then it will come back and switching it on/off doesn’t help. I have had the same album playable for about a week with no way of changing it, and I don’t want to resort to bluetooth as to be honest if that’s what I was after I would have just bought a bluetooth speaker.

A couple amazing details:

First: the Roam is visible all the time through my desktop app, which runs on a Mac in my basement. However, I didn’t buy the Roam to control it from a computer.