Skip to main content
Contributor I
Oct 26, 2024 10:38 AM UTC
Answered

moving speakers

I want to move my beam and era speakers from a summer location to a winter location for 6 months and then move them back to the summer location in the spring. If I set them up at the winter location and then return them to the summer location will the system recognize the speakers when they are reconnected? 

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.
buzz
buzzAnswer
Grand Maestro
Oct 26, 2024 1:23 PM UTC

[sigh] I can’t read.

You’ll only need to update the units once at the second location. Then you’ll be able to transport the units without any fuss.

In my case I temporarily took a unit to the office and added the office WiFi credentials. When I brought the unit back home it updated all of my home units to include the office WiFi. Now I can take any unit(s) to the office and they just play.

The system can store up to 16 sets of credentials.

13 replies

Senior Virtuoso
Oct 26, 2024 11:10 AM UTC

The easiest way to do this is to have the same wifi credentials at both locations. When the speakers are plugged into power at either location, they’ll find they are on a known network and should work without any need for reconfiguration. 

Translate
Grogers9Author
Contributor I
Oct 26, 2024 12:21 PM UTC

Thanks very much for your reply however setting the wifi up the same at both locations isn’t an option for me. I wonder where the set up data is stored? Isn’t it stored in the app relative to the IP address in which case the app would see these as new speakers at the other location ?

Translate
Grogers9Author
Contributor I
Oct 26, 2024 12:24 PM UTC

And further, when they are returned to the previous location wouldn’t the hardware be connected and set up as per the SSID and IP address at the previous location based on what’s stored in the app? 

Translate
Senior Virtuoso
Oct 26, 2024 12:42 PM UTC
buzz
Grand Maestro
Oct 26, 2024 12:42 PM UTC

Which SONOS unit(s) will you be carrying to the other location?

Translate
Senior Virtuoso
Oct 26, 2024 12:45 PM UTC

Which SONOS unit(s) will you be carrying to the other location?

Beam and Eras, according to the op. 

Translate
Grogers9Author
Contributor I
Oct 26, 2024 1:18 PM UTC

Nik thanks for the article. Much appreciated.

Had not seen that to read previously. I AM trying to understand how the config is stored etc. 

Translate
buzz
buzzAnswer
Grand Maestro
Oct 26, 2024 1:23 PM UTC

[sigh] I can’t read.

You’ll only need to update the units once at the second location. Then you’ll be able to transport the units without any fuss.

In my case I temporarily took a unit to the office and added the office WiFi credentials. When I brought the unit back home it updated all of my home units to include the office WiFi. Now I can take any unit(s) to the office and they just play.

The system can store up to 16 sets of credentials.

Translate
Grogers9Author
Contributor I
Oct 26, 2024 1:24 PM UTC

It would seem then I’d need to reset the speakers to factory default, suggesting the configuration is stored in the speakers not the app, and re install as new speakers at whatever location.
 

One would think there’d be a way to save a configuration and move them between locations and or rooms without having to repeat the entire setup process and trueplay setup. 
 

Or maybe I’m missing something ? 

Translate
Grogers9Author
Contributor I
Oct 26, 2024 1:27 PM UTC

[sigh] I can’t read.

You’ll only need to update the units once at the second location. Then you’ll be able to transport the units without any fuss.

In my case I temporarily took a unit to the office and added the office WiFi credentials. When I brought the unit back home it updated all of my home units to include the office WiFi. Now I can take any unit(s) to the office and they just play.

Thanks Buzz. To clarify then, you did not need to reset the speakers at the office to set them up? Any “gotchas” you might suggest I need to watch out for as to not delete the previous settings when setting them up and the other location? 

Translate