Answered

Home Theatre - Unique Setup in Small Space

• 7 January 2023
  • 8 replies

Hello everyone and thanks for all the great information on here.

I’ve been using Sonos for many years so I’m using a Bridge, 2 x Connect:Amp, and a Play:1.

My space and my home theatre set up are unique.

I’m using Sonos for music playback (Tidal, Spotify) as well as my little home theatre with a big screen. 

The theatre space is built in the corner of a 25’ x 35’ shop with 16’ . We have a loft in one end, below which is 8’ open joist ceiling. Under the loft and in the corner is the living room with with a roll up 10’ widescreen and projector (and leather couch) where we watch movies.

Are you with me so far? 😁

Connected to the back of the projector is a Roku Express 4K video streaming stick. Auduo goes into the projector through Roku‘s HDMI and from the projector line-out to a Connect:Amp line-in. The Roku delivers “Dolby Audio™ and DTS pass through via HDMI®“. it’s all very compact which suits this small space well.

I want to improve my theatre sound quality so I’ve been considering adding a playbar or beam on the ceiling above the screen or the wall beside it.

so, here are my questions:

— will the Playbar or Beam connect OK to the system (being mostly “old“ Sonus technology)?

- can I mount either device on the ceiling above the projector screen or vertically on the wall beside it?

- I assume the smaller sound bar, Beam, is a better choice for the situation? (Because of the small space and it looks like I can mount this on the wall which would be preferable.)

- Will the audio delivered from the Roku box be compatible? Sound OK? Or is there a better way?

Thank you, 

Gerry

icon

Best answer by 106rallye 8 January 2023, 10:58

View original

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

8 replies