Disappointing dialog on the Arc

• 17 December 2020
  • 8 replies

Userlevel 1

I have a lot of sonos products.  I've been using the play bar, sub, and play 1 surrounds for many years.  I upgraded the play bar for the arc.  I find that the dialog is harder to hear.  I tried every sound setting combination the app has to no avail.  I kept turning the volume up to hear speech,  and down when the other sounds got too loud.  I hated the volume up and down game so I went back to my play bar and the dialog is so much better.  Also, I don't own any apple products so don't recommend calibration., not going to happen.   Sonos please fix this in a firmware update. If not I'll going to have to get a different soundbar with HDMI connections that has good dialog performance. I researched best dialog bars on rtings and the sonos arc is very low on the list, the play bar is much higher.  Why does the dialog suffer on the arc??

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

8 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +16

Hi @Solider

Thanks for reaching out to the Sonos community and for letting us know about your concern.  I appreciate all your effort and the steps you have performed to resolve the issue. Let me share this with you. 

When playing TV audio with a Sonos home theater speaker, you can turn on Speech Enhancement to boost the audio frequencies associated with the human voice. Turning this feature on will make dialogue easier to hear.

Toggle Speech Enhancement using iOS or Android

1. Turn on your TV and make sure TV audio is playing through your Sonos home theater speaker.
  2. Open the Sonos app.
  3. In the  System tab (Rooms tab if using the S1 Controller app), select your home theater speaker.
  4. Tap the Now Playing bar at the bottom to open the Now Playing screen.