Skip to main content
Contributor II
January 23, 2025
Answered

IOS app message: update required before using

  • January 23, 2025
  • 3 replies
  • 278 views

Yesterday I opened my Sonos app (S 2) on my iPhone to play some music.

Instead of the normal screen, I had a message to the effect that “an update is required before app is usable.”

I have automatic updates turned off in system settings, and prefer to manually update to a new version in case of bug(s) being discovered, etc..  I have never seen a message like this before, and would prefer to not be forced to update.

I am now updated to S2 16.5.1 (build 82360160).

Please advise as to (1) why this happened and (2)  how or if  I can avoid being forced to update in the future.

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.
Best answer by Pools-3015

I am guessing you are a new Sonos user. 

When an important update is needed, the Sonos app would lose some functionality until the update is complete. Sonos is not the only company that does this.

I would encourage you to do the update so that you can regain app and system control.

3 replies

Pools-3015
Prodigy I
January 23, 2025

I am guessing you are a new Sonos user. 

When an important update is needed, the Sonos app would lose some functionality until the update is complete. Sonos is not the only company that does this.

I would encourage you to do the update so that you can regain app and system control.

BobalaskaAuthor
Contributor II
January 23, 2025

I’ve been a Sonos user for many years. 
 

I did the update, as I had no choice.

one possible reason is I used to update from desktop app. Nonetheless, I never saw a message requiring an update to new version of app until yesterday. 
 

Thanks. 

Pools-3015
Prodigy I
January 23, 2025

I believe it came out a week ago, and I did it almost immediately.

This was a firmware update that needed to be initiated from the app, but many users did not get a prompt until the app was disabled.