Skip to main content
Chromatic Producer I
January 22, 2020
Answered

Will a legacy system be frozen?

  • January 22, 2020
  • 15 replies
  • 523 views

So if I decide to stay in unsupported legacy mode how will I be able to administrate my system?

Will I be able to add components? (I might get components from environmental friendly people)

If not what happens if I also need to reset a component? Will that be bricked?

Will there be a legacy controller for all systems?

 

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.
Best answer by jgatie

Most of your questions have been covered in the Announcements thread.  Summary:

 

You will still be able to administrate your system.

You will still be able to add new products.

You will still be able to re-add old products.

Controller details have not been stated yet.

15 replies

jgatie
jgatieAnswer
January 22, 2020

Most of your questions have been covered in the Announcements thread.  Summary:

 

You will still be able to administrate your system.

You will still be able to add new products.

You will still be able to re-add old products.

Controller details have not been stated yet.

T-SAuthor
Chromatic Producer I
January 22, 2020

Thanks, since it’s over a thousand messages there it’s great to have these details collected separately like this. This sounds a lot like the kind of legacy options some of us wished for when the CR100 was EOL:ed.

jgatie
January 22, 2020

Thanks, since it’s over a thousand messages there it’s great to have these details collected separately like this. This sounds a lot like the kind of legacy options some of us wished for when the CR100 was EOL:ed.

 

Yes, it does.  Ironic, isn’t it?  

T-SAuthor
Chromatic Producer I
January 22, 2020

Truly ironic.

 

So re-add old products means I can reset those I have but not add others not previously in my system found 2nd hand?

jgatie
January 22, 2020

Truly ironic.

 

So re-add old products means I can reset those I have but not add others not previously in my system found 2nd hand?

 

Don’t know about that.  Seems they are being purposefully scant on details until May. 

T-SAuthor
Chromatic Producer I
January 22, 2020

Truly ironic.

 

So re-add old products means I can reset those I have but not add others not previously in my system found 2nd hand?

 

Don’t know about that.  Seems they are being purposefully scant on details until May. 


OK, I see. We’ll have to wait.

Contributor I
January 23, 2020

Except it’s not accurate! Sonos requires that the same software on all devices in a network.
 

If you bought a new device on a higher version of software you would not be able to connect it to a legacy that work.
 

That’s why they’ve said that mixed systems of you and old components cannot be upgraded after may. 

jgatie
January 23, 2020

Except it’s not accurate! Sonos requires that the same software on all devices in a network.
 

If you bought a new device on a higher version of software you would not be able to connect it to a legacy that work.
 

That’s why they’ve said that mixed systems of you and old components cannot be upgraded after may. 

 

Except it is accurate.  @Ryan S, can you please testify to the accuracy?

Contributor I
January 23, 2020

What they have said is split your networks so you have 2 Sonos setups. Old and new. 
 

No details on how that will work. How phone controllers etc will manage which have / automatically get updated.  

jgatie
January 23, 2020

What they have said is split your networks so you have 2 Sonos setups. Old and new. 
 

No details on how that will work. How phone controllers etc will manage which have / automatically get updated.  

 

You can either do that, or leave them all as a legacy system.  Legacy systems will not get the regular upgrades, but you will be able to add new products. 

Now as I have requested confirmation from @Ryan S, why don’t we wait until he clarifies before escalating this disagreement, OK?