Skip to main content
Avid Contributor I
November 22, 2022
Answered

restrict access to system settings

  • November 22, 2022
  • 16 replies
  • 604 views

I have Sonos S2 set up in a holiday let with 4 speakers and 4 controllers set up as bespoke Sonos controllers using old iPhones and imaze so the phones cannot be used for anything else.

this setup is absolutely great and works well.

I have set up an extra Sonos account only used for this location and all of the controllers are logged out of the account.

However, I am still concerned that guests could fiddle with settings and break the system.

It seems possible to go into system and try to downgrade to S1 for example? Is it ?

Is there anything detrimental a user (who is not logged in) could do, and if so, would it not be appropriate to either hide or disable some system options unless logged in ?

Most users would probably not poke around with the system settings, but setting an alarm is a useful function for example and can only be done within system, but I don’t want to invite users to dig around unnecessarily.

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.
Best answer by Airgetlam

I’d agree, it’s rare for John and I to disagree….but he’s got more knowledge than I do, at the end of the day. I trust his depth of knowledge implicitly. And this isn’t something I’ve done much of, since I live alone. 

However, the key thing is, if you now grant access via wifi to a friend, who’s setting up the app for the first time, they’ll not have access to those settings.

16 replies

November 22, 2022

I have just realised that you said the other controllers were logged out. That is what has protected the settings, not resetting one controller. 

The reset is just a means of logging out.

CraigR65Author
Avid Contributor I
November 22, 2022

 if I reset just one controller whilst logged in to all of them. I will still be logged in on the others.

I’m not trying to prove or disprove a theory, I honestly can’t say for certain that one controller wasn’t logged in when the stereo pair was set up, all I want to do is be confident that when logged out, a user cannot screw it up.

CraigR65Author
Avid Contributor I
November 22, 2022

Ok, I think you have answered the initial question, having reset a controller and being logged out on all of them, a user shouldn’t be able to mess things up.

November 22, 2022

Logging out and reset accomplish the same thing for your purposes.  Device by device. Users will always screw things up but there are at least some restrictions. 

Airgetlam
AirgetlamAnswer
November 22, 2022

I’d agree, it’s rare for John and I to disagree….but he’s got more knowledge than I do, at the end of the day. I trust his depth of knowledge implicitly. And this isn’t something I’ve done much of, since I live alone. 

However, the key thing is, if you now grant access via wifi to a friend, who’s setting up the app for the first time, they’ll not have access to those settings.

Bruce
CraigR65Author
Avid Contributor I
November 23, 2022

Thank you both for your input, much appreciated