Complex music setup: Playbar w Sub vs multiple Play One w Sub(s) vs Play Fives w sub

• 9 November 2021
  • 1 reply

Hi

I’ve been into Sonos for a very long time. I’m reasonably familiar with both the S1 and S2 apps. I’m currently running 2 Sub Gen2, 1 Sub Gen3, an Arc, a Beam Gen1, a Beam Gen2, a Playbar, 2 Play:1, 2 Play:5, 4 Play One SL, and 2 Play One. In an 1100 sqft apartment lol. I only seem to recognize my illness when I type it out. So again, I’m reasonably comfortable with the company’s products.

So I’ve decided that I need to thin out the herd.

My Arc is bonded with the Sub Gen3 and 2 of the Play Ones. Really really nice setup. I love the sound. I’m not messing around with this.

I currently have my Beam Gen2 bonded with 1 Sub Gen2. I have them in my small studio (I’m a painter). I have them for movie / YouTube while working. “Maybe” a 12x12 room. It’s not an Arc, but it’s good. I haven’t decided about the 2 Play One SLs. It’s such a small room. I don’t want to hamper ATMOS.

Finally, I prefer to listen to lossless music.

Now the problem space. I have a something like 13x20 Lounge / Living Room. Right now, I have a Playbar at the center, end of the room with a bonded Sub Gen2. Approximately half way up the access of the room, I have 2 Play:1s also bonded to the Playbar.

The Playbar + bonded speakers is only there for music. There’s no TV attached. I’ve been reading everything. I’ve yet to find a thoughtful review of the Playbar + bonded speakers as a music source. I understand that the 2 Play:1s, set to full, play both channels. There’s no stereo separation (unless you stream 5.1 music audio - which does exist though it’s a niche). Pretty standard Sonos 5.1 from 6 or 7 years ago.

1. Are there any decent reviews of that 5.1 setup as a music speaker system? It doesn’t sound bad per se. Channel separation isn’t great.