Answered

I think I've made an expensive mistake.

• 13 December 2017
  • 93 replies

Show first post
This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

93 replies

AjTrek1, I want to tell you I appreciate the effort made by you on these forums.

That said, you are wrong.

I disagree for a number of reasons. The first being that Sonos has undertaken a project to build these speakers, but has also ignored the fact that 99.9% of users do not have the knowledge to adjust their router settings. I'm an old tech guy and I cringe every time I'm told I have to do it.

Just because you're a whiz with adjusting your settings doesn't mean everyone else is.

You (or someone - I can't keep track) said to dump UPnP. Take a look at this list that is one a Sonos web page. While we are being told that we should remove UPnP in these threads Sonos is telling us we need it. Someone needs to make up their mind exactly what it is users need to do. Those that have the ability to slog their way through routers settings, that is.

Below are the ports that Sonos uses:

TCP/IP:
80 (Internet Radio, updates and registration)
443 (Rhapsody, Napster, and SiriusXM)
445 (CIFS)
3400 (incoming UPnP events - Sonos Controller App for Mac or PC)
3401 (Sonos Controller App for iOS)
3445 (OS X File Sharing)
3500 (Sonos Controller App for Android)
4070 (Spotify incoming events)
4444 (Sonos update process)

UDP:
136-139 (NetBIOS)
1900 (UPnP events and device detection)
1901 (UPnP responses)

2869, 10243, 10280-10284 (Windows Media Player NSS)
5353 (Spotify Control)
6969 (Initial configuration)

Sonos cannot possibly in a million years anticipate the multiplicity of network setups that consumers will have in their homes.

Remember, you can always call Sonos if you don’t mind the wait.