Sonos controller problem on iOS 9.3.5

Show first post
This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

129 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +23
There are no legal issues here, just engineering tradeoffs. As SonoPad shows, one can publish apps to the Store that work on old iOS versions. I don't know what hoops have to be gone through to do this mind you: I am a n00b iOS developer myself.

As a general rule, 3rd party apps like SonoPad and my own don't care which Sonos system software you are running: they continue to work on new ones, and we try to keep them working against old systems (even though it is expensive to test this, as we need to keep N systems un-upgraded to do so).

The official Sonos controllers do not have this philosophy: they require players to be running firmware versions that match the controllers. While this makes sense for options such as Setup and Upgrades, for regular playback there is no technical reason for this (see: 3rd party apps). This is their decision, with unfortunate side effects when the decide to stop running on older platforms. They could make the old apps go into "safe mode" if they become too old for the player firmware and become playback-only (like the PC/Mac apps have permanently become), but they chose not to: instead the apps refuse to run.
Userlevel 6
Badge +14

One certain way to avoid the update chaos is to just switch off all sonos devices, sell if possible, and switch to another user-friendly system.

Something which you refuse to do, even after your frequent and repeated complaints. So despite the fact you pimp the long extinct Squeezebox every chance you can, it seems you just can't give up on Sonos.

I never mentioned the other system - you did! Thanks.

My complaints are frequent because Sonos presents these updates without warning. I don't need recently played - so why must I update?
Userlevel 2