Answered

Creating 5.1 with non-Sonos Subwoofer

• 25 December 2013
  • 66 replies

Show first post
This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

66 replies

Userlevel 1
Badge
I'm so glad I read this thread!  I was about to spend A LOT of money buying into the Sonos Eco-system for my home, and use the AMP to connect my very capable Onkyo rear speakers and sub.  Now that I know Sonos prevents people from doing this, I'm going to skip the system entirely and go another way.  I wonder how many people out there didn't know this before buying (and are angry) or like me, aren't investing in it?

Frankly, I would still consider the Sonos system but $700 just for a sub is ridiculous (on top of $700 for a playbar).

I did exactly that, I got rid of my connect amp, play bar and a couple connect's and since I build AV automation systems for a living decided to integrate a creation adagio AMS, so I have 7.1 with all my own gear and then have 4 extra zones and plan to expand to another 8 in the future. I have both AMX Mio remotes as well as my iPad and iPad integrated into the system. There's options, but I definitely originally wanted to keep it simple going the only sonos route. I still have 3 sonos connect's, in addition to 4 am/fm/xm radio feeds on the crestron. If anyone is interested in going a custom route, I program AMX and crestron as well as custom embedded and realtime Linux, so we can make anything work. rrdbstudios@gmail.com
I'm so glad I read this thread!  I was about to spend A LOT of money buying into the Sonos Eco-system for my home, and use the AMP to connect my very capable Onkyo rear speakers and sub.  Now that I know Sonos prevents people from doing this, I'm going to skip the system entirely and go another way.  I wonder how many people out there didn't know this before buying (and are angry) or like me, aren't investing in it?