A linux controller is needed.

Show first post
This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

258 replies

Please provide a Linux controller or an API to work with.
+ 1

both my office (5 users) and my home devices (4 PCs/laptops) run either Ubuntu or Mint.
Indeed... they are obligated to do something - give the community the resource and it will be done.
I just want to add my voice to those requesting a Linux Controller. Please, guys! Do it for world peace!
I'm disappointed that Sonos has taken this stance. Although I am new to Linux, and I could continue to control my Sonos with mobile, or a windows computer, there is a point of principle here that makes me inclined to switch to another music play system. Shame on you sonos.
In the mean time, if you possess a NAS drive such as that from Synology, you can simply install 'audio station' and then use 'audio station's' media player to stream your music straight to your sonos- device(s). The media player is pretty basic (at least compared to the likes of amarok or rhythmbox), but it supports playlists, cover art, radio stations, some streaming services, catches lyrics and.... most importantly ...  is not affected by the 65,000 songs barrier.
I would suggest to add a specific clause to the GNU license which forbids companies to use it, if they do nothing in return.
Was about to spend 400€ in two play 1 when the vendor told me that was not compatible with linux. If you don't want to develop a client for whatever reason, you could open the API so that the linux community can develop it !
Adding my voice to those who ask for a Linux version of the controller.
As we only use LINUX in our home, I really need a config solution for our SONOS products!
So PLEASE get us one, this should be quite easy!!!
++++1