Answered

Sonos arc, samsung tv, ps4 pro

• 16 December 2020
  • 4 replies

I have a couple of questions regarding Sonos sound system and hope that you could help me. I am a complete newbie to the topic and Your help would be greatly appreciated :relaxed:.

I am considering Sonos since it is wireless (mostly) and seems to offer amazing sound quality for the price.

Ideally I would like to have a complete 5.1 sound surround system.

Bellow are my concerns.

Room shape

Attached are images of my living room, there are two things i am concerned about:

• rectangular shape, right wall basically missing/far away
  • back wall behind me has open space

Would this room shape be ok for setups:

• arc 
  • arc + subwoofer
  • arc + subwoofer + 2 front speakers + 2 wall mounted back speakers
    • this is where i would like to get

Am I missing something with open space in my room ?

Samsung KS 7000 series support

From what i can read there seem to be some problems with this TV series and dolby digital + support. Samsung on the other hand states that dd+ should be supported.

Can you please help me make sense out of the thread below? :)

https://en.community.sonos.com/home-theater-228993/samsung-ks8000-with-sonos-arc-no-dolby-digital-plus-signal-6842911

If i go to expert settings on my samsung TV, there are following options under audio format:

• PCM
  • Dolby digital
  • DTS
    • apparently not supported by Sonos

I do not see dolby digital plus in my settings, should it work regardless ? The thread above seems to suggest there are some problems with that.

• Would Sonos arc + Samsung KS 7000 support out of the box dolby digital plus sound ?

Additionally there seems to be some kind of a miracle device linked below (from the forum thread) which would enable Dolby Atmos support for my TV which does not support it by design.

https://hdfury.com/product/4k-arcana-18gbps/

• If I get this device can I have Dolby Atmos sound ?