No Atmos with Firestick 4K Max

Badge

Hi, I’ve just purchased a Sonos Arc but i’m having trouble getting Atmos from Netflix via a Fire Stick 4k Max.

I have a premium Netflix subscription and all settings are at their highest.

I have Sky Q so i’m able to get Atmos from Sky Movies from the Arc so i know that it does work from that source.

Anyone any ideas?

Thanks

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

42 replies

Userlevel 1
Badge

@GuitarSuperstar Perfect!

You’ve confirmed everything brilliantly and thanks also for the recommendations.

At least I can rest easy in the knowledge that I wasn’t missing anything obvious.

Thanks again!

Userlevel 7

This thread is the closest example I have found so far to date that reflects my issue. I have a Sonos Beam (Gen 2), Sub (Gen 2) and 2 x Era 300’s as rear surrounds. My LG TV is a 2015 model (ARC only) so I purchased the HDFury Arcana and a HDMI switch.

I can play Dolby Atmos content all day long from my Blu Ray disc player which is terrific. Atmos is displayed on the Sonos app.

However, for Dolby Atmos titles in Netflix and Prime Video, the best I can get is Dolby Digital Plus 5.1, even though I can see on the Netflix/Prime apps that the films in question are Atmos encoded. Don’t get me wrong, DD+ sounds great but the fact that I can’t play select content in Atmos is driving me mad (only because it’s annoying me that I can’t fix it!). I’ve tried both the native apps on the TV and also the apps on my Sky Q box but no cigar. I’ve played with the audio and scaler setings on the Arcana but still no dice. My TV, Sky Q and streaming app settings are all correct. I was actually thinking of buying a Fire TV stick to see if this was a solution but from reading this thread, it doesn’t appear that this option solves the issue for both streaming services.