Skip to main content

Why is the new Sonos App crap?

How does the app keep getting worse and worse over time. It's too bad, I've had some of my Sonos speakers for around 10 years now. Even on a brand new phone the current app is not user friendly, missing functionality that it used to have. And removed the playlists I had. So disappointing given how great the whole experience used to be. The new update is much worse, missing basic functionality now,  So irritated. 

Like some of you, I work in tech. Specifically, as a project manager, I help roll out new programs for users. 

There are some major tenants/best practices, we follow when launching anything. The ones that come to mind here are:

• collect enhancement requests from your (users) customers to see what’s causing the most (noise) pain
  • hold focus groups and engage with beta testers. Get input from the folks that will be using what you’re rolling out. (Not just your CEO or engineers)  ((I was a Sonos beta tester many years ago…but maybe they don’t do that any longer? (Big mistake! 🛍️️ Huge! 👒 )))
  • Don’t just have the engineers & QA team test - do actual User Acceptance Testing (beta testing). Make sure your testers actually represent your user base
  • ((Shameless plug)) Have an experienced, knowledgeable project manager organize your product enhancement, testing & release.

What disturbs me most about this launch is the total disregard for standards. It makes me question whether Sonos has truly lost their way. If this is how they launch something as fundamental as a user app, how are they running the rest of their business and are they really a viable company any longer?

We all make mistakes. This one is a doozy! 

On the pro side, glad to see they’re actually publishing a roadmap now with identified enhancements and target release dates. Maybe they got a project manager after all! 🤪