Question

Sonos Zp90/Connect to NAS

• 2 November 2020
  • 17 replies

Hi,

I am new with dematerialized music and I would like to know if I can connect a NAS directly to Sonos Connect 1st Generation Ethernet port, not through Wi-Fi (I don’t have any available Ethernet port on my Router). I am looking to Buffalo LinkStation 210 or Western Digital My Cloud Home Personnel.

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

17 replies

No, that port is looking for a network signal from a router, and not a direct connection to anything else. The NAS, as it names implies, needs to be on a network for the Sonos to ‘see’ it. 

My router have only one Ethernet port and it's connected to a computer, so do you have any suggestions to connect a N'AS to my network? 

A network hub?

Userlevel 7
Badge +22

Something like these, 5 or more ports for expansion.

Just get a short Ethernet cable to plug between this and your router, then move an Ethernet wire from the router to this to make a place to connect it. With a 5 port you’d then have 3 open ports.

https://smile.amazon.com/NETGEAR-8-Port-Gigabit-Ethernet-Unmanaged-dp-B07PFYM5MZ/dp/B07PFYM5MZ/ref=dp_ob_title_ce

Does the Sonos Connect can search the signal from the wifi? 

Would you rephrase that question, please?

I want to know if this configuration Sonos Connect and NAS is ok. 

Modem to router, router to switch, switch to NAS and Sono Connect search the audio files from NAS through wifi (not connect with Ethernet cable to NAS) 

Ah, I see. Yes, that would work. The CONNECT can work either by being wired via Ethernet cable to your network, or by being connected to your WiFi signal. 

What is the best for media NAS: 

https://www.amazon.ca/-/fr/gp/product/B00JKM0ES2/ref=ox_sc_act_title_3?smid=A3DWYIK6Y9EEQB&psc=1
or