Kitchen/Living Room Renovation

• 28 August 2023
  • 3 replies

Newbie here!

We are renovating our kitchen/living room and I never had any pre-wiring experience and do not own any Sonos products. So far most of house is automated by Alexa and I would like to keep it that way. 

Red area marks the couch/viewing space.

Potential areas for rack set-up

• Blue X - Under the stairs closet
  • Green X - Garage 

I definitely want to pre-wire for a home theater but also want to start the journey of automating the whole house speaker system. Need recommendations on what kind of system I should look at, what the main considerations for a pre-wiring any suggestions on articles, videos?  

Thanks in advance! 

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

3 replies

If you will excuse my saying so, a Sonos forum seems a strange choice for advice on pre-wiring?  Perhaps you need professional advice?

I wanted to go with Sonos since that is the system people are recommending hence the post. I wanted to see if there are any specific instructions for Sonos. 

Userlevel 7
Badge +22

Lots of questions to answer before we can give good advice.

Where do you want music speakers, what type - in-wall or stand-alone?

Soundbar or stand-alone for the TV?

For surround do you want stand-alone or are you willing to compromise sound by going to built-in?

Not waiting for your answers… :-)

Bar: For the TV an ARC for the R/C/L channels, Era 300s for the rear surrounds, on stands behind the couch and a Gen 3 Sub.

Passive: For the TV an Amp and your choice of passive speakers for the R/L channels, Era 300s for the rear surrounds, on stands behind the couch and a Gen 3 Sub.