Cambridge Audio - Amplifier azur 550A and Sonos Connection Query

• 3 April 2018
  • 8 replies

Hi Guys, I am new to the Sonos community and have yet to buy any products because of recent doubts caused by a visit to a well known retailer. I won't mention their name.

I have a question/problem that may be solved by Sonos or may not.

I currently have a Cambridge Audio system comprising Amp azur 550A, AM/FM/DAB Tuner azur 650T and Compact Disc player azur 550C which has 4 wired Mission speakers in two rooms (2 in each) which utilises the A and B options of the Amp. I am very happy with the system and had a DAB aerial fitted some years ago to make good use of the DAB radio. However there are wires everywhere and I would like to be able to use the system with wireless speakers.

Having looked at the Sonos systems and a previous similar query I thought Sonos would be the answer but the unnamed retailer confused the hell out of me talking about ins and outs and loops.

I am not knowledgeable about these things but thought that a Sonos Connect and a Sonos speaker (one to start with) would enable me to play all aspects of the Cambridge system through the Sonos speaker as well as playing my music currently on my iPhone and MacBook.

If this is possible please advise because I would love to ditch the wired speakers.

Many thanks.

Chas

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

8 replies

[quote=Chas51

If this is possible please advise because I would love to ditch the wired speakers.
[/quote]
Then you have to ditch the Amp as well and don't need the Connect. Start with a pair of play 5 speakers in one room, and a 1 pair in the other, if four 5 units are too expensive.