Skip to main content
Question

Arc + Sub Mini + Sonance?

• 21 May 2024
  • 6 replies

I am new to Sonos and new to surround sound/Dolby atmos. I recently purchased an Arc soundbar and am planning on purchasing a sub mini. I believe this will put me at 5.1.2? I was originally planning on adding 2x Era 300s to achieve 7.1.4 but the decoration committee vetoed that and would prefer an in wall solution. Now I am looking at the sonance in-ceiling/in-wall options and I have a few questions: 

• Can I achieve 7.1.4 by adding both in-ceiling and in-wall with two amps?
  • By adding only the in-walls would this be 7.1.2?
    • What is preferred and why? The 8in in-ceiling or the in-wall? 

Thank you! 

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

6 replies

Userlevel 7

The Arc alone is 5.0.2. The last .2 are virtual surround channels.

The Arc + Sub Mini is 5.1.2.

The Arc + Sub Mini + Amp (powering two speakers) is still a 5.1.2 setup.

You can only add two surround speakers in a Sonos home theater setup so you have to choose either two in-wall or two-in-ceiling speakers powered by one Amp.

In general, you want to place the surround speakers as close to ear level as possible. So in-wall speakers would be better than in-ceiling speakers.

Thanks for the info! I’m still a bit confused how the Arc + Sub Mini + 2x Era 300s is consider 7.1.4 but the Arc + Sub Mini + Amp (powering two speakers) is only a 5.1.2 setup and not 7.1.2? I understand that the Amp with in-wall speakers would be missing the last .2 because there are no up firing drivers like in the Era 300.

Also, since the in-ceiling speakers are offered with 8in drivers could I just use these in-wall instead of the standard in-wall speaks that have 6.5in drivers? 

Userlevel 7