spectrum Router

• 5 January 2024
  • 4 replies

Admittedly I am new to the Sonos community. We just built a new house and I had a Sonos Arc installed along with amp and four overhead in-house speakers. Recently I was given a new Roam and the device connected but did not show in my system settings. When I called Sonos they told me that Spectrum had a known issue with the router and suggested that I do a wired connection which I cannot do to the homes layout. My question is can I change the router out and get my Roam to work and not affect the other speakers in the house? If so what router should I get?

4 replies

Here is how to connect Sonos to a new router…

https://support.sonos.com/en-us/article/connect-sonos-to-a-new-router-or-wi-fi-network

If you do get a new router, then perhaps just ensure it’s not on the Sonos ‘incompatible network hardware’ list shown here…

https://support.sonos.com/en-us/article/incompatible-network-hardware

A suggestion for a router is an Asus ZenWiFi (WiFi 6) which is capable of adding other Asus hubs to turn it into a Home mesh system a little further down the line, but most routers may work fine with Sonos, that’s if they’re not on the incompatible-network-hardware list.

Maybe others will chime in here too with some other suggestions.

Thanks so much. I guess I don't understand how the other speakers work fine but this little Roam speaker won't. I assume the others are ran with cabling. I don't know I didn't install it. Thanks for the reply.

I looked at the list and didn't see the spectrum SAV1 ( I assume that's the model) listed. 

Badge

I am having the same or similar problem.  My Spectrum router model is  SAC2V2S (Sagemcom).