Number of Speakers in a Room?

• 4 February 2024
  • 7 replies

Do I need more than one speaker in a room for the best sound experience?

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

7 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +18

As with a conventional amp-and-wired-speakers, two speakers will give you better stereo imaging. But a single Era 300 is reportedly pretty good. 

How big is the room? What shape is it? What music do you listen to? What kit have you used before? 

Sonos gear is easy to reconfigure so buy 2 speakers, play around with just one and both, and return one of you’re ok with just the one. Sonos offers a generous home trial period. 

Thanks for this.  The room is a bath to a primary en suite.  Approximately 12’ x 12’ x 8’ ceilings.  I am an architect fitting out the space for an owner.  Don’t know that they have other Sonos in the house.  We are remodeling the bathroom, and the owners asked for wired speakers to their ceiling.

Userlevel 7
Badge +18

I love it when not all the details come at once. 

Do they already have an amplifier to drive the speakers? If they’ve asked for “wired speakers” why are you considering “one speaker”? Why are you considering using Sonos - is this what they’ve requested? 

So many more questions but I think I’ll just back out from this thread and let someone else take over…

Hope you do get it resolved. There are professional audio installers listed on Sonos website. 

“Best experience” is very personal. For example: In your profession some customers would love a rough log cabin style livingroom while others want a slick marble floor and mirrored walls scheme.