Question

Sonos playbar 5.1

• 23 April 2017
  • 6 replies

Badge
Hi all,

I have a playbar and a sonos connect amp and am trying to get the 5.1 set up to work in the UK.

I'm a bit novice with the terminology but understand that the playbar doesn't support a DTS input but will support a Dolby Digital 5.1 input.

I have a Panasonic TX-40CX680 and am trying to find out if it will output 5.1 from a 5.1 source via an HDMI input. About 1 year old. It appears to output in Dolby Digital 5.1 when using the netflix app.

Assuming it will not output 5.1 via HDMI source - then I understand the options to get true 5.1 (with sub) are

a) splitter cables to get multiple inputs to the playbar via optical cable. Downside is that the signals might get confused if the sources are active in standby

b) HDMI siwithcher boxes - with the HDMI cables going in to the switcher with a single optical audio output to the playbar.

My question is in scenario B - how will my TV audio (i.e. normal broadcast TV or the netflix app) get to the soundbar as they're not connected?

Also, if I buy a TV that outputs Dolby 5.1 from any HDMI input - would that solve all problems? If I use the "5.1" setup through my TV with 5.1 inputs - is that any good? It sounded very quiet when I tried it and I thought they were broken.

Are there any other simple to use soundbars where I can still use my TV remote?

Thanks

PS I also have a WDTV live - but it doesn't seem to be sending 5.1 to the playbar when connected directly and after playing about with the audio output settings. If anyone has the exact settings that are needed then please let me know!

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

6 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +3
Hi Sicole51, I think you're maybe over complicating this.

Looking at your TV's User Manual it has an Digital 'Optical Output' which supports PCM & Dolby Digital