Question

Having Major Problems LGC7 + Sonos

• 2 February 2018
  • 9 replies

Badge +1
  • Avid Contributor I
  • 13 replies
I'm currently running a Playbase plus 2 Ones off a LG C7. Although I have been using the Playbase for a few months, I'm having nothing but problems with this surround setup. Wondering if anyone else has had the same issue.

For the past week I've had intermittent skipping of sound across both my Apple TV4K and UK Sky Q 4K Box. I've tried all sorts of combinations between dolby on/off on the TV, on/off on the ATV and every combination in between. Although at time it seems ok, can go for a full film, or, part way through a film it starts skipping like crazy. What I have found it flicking the TV from auto to PCM stops the problem, going back into auto starts the problem, this points to a processing problem with the Sonos system. The internal speakers has no problem playing 5.1 with no skipping.

Please find attached video of the problem

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

9 replies

Badge +1
Video of the problem can be viewed here. Link in the above post doesn't seem to work https://youtu.be/jFtId--G8eE
Userlevel 7
Badge +21
Sounds like a network issue to me. This would be best solved by submitting a diagnostic and posting it here for Sonos to investigate.
Further experiments to isolate the problem...

Use a different optical cable if you have one. Make sure connections are solid.

Run the optical direct from Sky box to Playbar (and /or from ATV if old enough to have optical out)

Edit. OK it is an ATV4K so not going to have optical out I suspect
Badge +1
I'm of the thinking it could be the optical cable myself, like a bandwidth issue as it's fine in stereo. Will change the cable and give it a testing. Will send a diagnostic if it doesn't sure the problem. One of the problems is in can be so intermittent.