Answered

Audio lag/delay Sonos Beam gen. 2 with Sony KD65XH9096

• 17 October 2021
  • 5 replies

Hi guys! 

i’m pretty new to Sonos world. I just bought the new beam gen 2. 

I connected it via hdmi arc to my sony KD65XH9096 but i have an annoying audio lag/delay both with tv and ps5. I tried to correct via sonos app but i can only increase the delay and not decrease. How can i solve this?? 

icon

Best answer by Ken_Griffiths 17 October 2021, 22:28

View original

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

5 replies

Sonos devices are not in a position to fix a delay in receiving the ‘processed’ audio from a TV - All the Sonos Home Theatre devices (should) do play the audio as soon as it arrives, with virtually little, or no, buffering involved and no transcoding. The issue is what is happening to the audio before it arrives at the connected HT device that is causing the delays here and lip-sync issues?

Some TV manufacturers have resolved these type of issues in a variety of different ways by increasing the abilities of their TV models with faster processors and introducing such features as lip-sync tools (usually available in the TV sound-out settings), but most TV brands seem to now be using ‘audio pass-through’ for connected devices like the PlayStation, XBox, Apple TV, Fire-stick etc. so that the TV itself, effectively lets the audio bypass (pass-through) the TV, without it being processed.

If your TV is not able to do these things with its connected devices, then I suggest perhaps looking at the option of using an audio splitter/extractor, which takes the audio from such devices and extracts and splits it off to the Sonos Receiver and by-passes the TV/ports altogether and eradicates any delays usually caused by the TV/Processor/Ports.