Answered

About the Sonos Arc Drivers

Hey all, 

So maybe this is a stupid question but I'm new to Soundbars.

The arc has 11 drivers, but when listening to music I always only her the center ones and the ones on the sides. 

I basically never hear the front facing ones left and right from the center ones. (Even with movies) With Atmos content I at least also hear the upward facing drivers at specific scenes (I assume they are not supposed to always play)

So of course I can only hear it with my ear right next to the drivers, but I was just curious and I can never seem to hear sound from the Left and right front facing ones, only the center ones. 

What's up with that, is this normal or is my unit damaged?

Thanks in advance!

icon

Best answer by Audiofn 7 July 2020, 18:45

View original

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

21 replies

Badge

Hi,

Unfortunately I’m not an Arc owner yet, however I intend to buy one soon mainly for Music listening.

I believe what you are describing can be resolved if you switch between ‘Ambient’ listening mode into ‘Full’ listening mode. 

You can read more here: 

https://www.smarthomesounds.co.uk/blog/faqs/6-quick-tips-to-enhance-your-sonos-surround-sound-system#:~:text=Switch%20your%20Sonos%20surround%20speakers%20from%20ambient%20to%20full&text=Ambient%20mode%20means%20when%20you,when%20switching%20to%20Full%20mode.  

please let me know if this helps and whether the Arc is now using all 11 drivers/speakers when you listen to music ? (e.g. radio streaming or mp3 playback) 

Unfortunately there is no such option in my case. I guess because I don't have any other speakers, which would make it true surround sound. When I go there I just have the option to add surround sound

Here is a quote from the otherwise very favourable 5-star review in What Hi-Fi