Question

Youtube Music with Google Assistant

• 12 June 2020
  • 2 replies

Hello, 

I couldn't find an answer to my problem so trying to get help here. I have a YouTube Premium subscription and using Google Assistant on my Sonos device. While I can play music from Youtube Music just fine through the Sonos App, I cannot with Google Assistant. I have selected YouTube as default music provider in the Google Home app, and whenever I ask Google Assistant on my Sonos One to play music, it responds “I can't do that here but you can ask me to play on one of your other devices”. I assume that Assistant thinks I want to play a video and expects a screen to play it. Any thoughts how I can make it work?

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

2 replies

Userlevel 6
Badge +17

Hi @Chris_Muc,

Welcome to the Sonos Community and thanks for sharing your experience with us,

I would like to suggest the following guides and tips to help you out.

• Also, try to sign out all Google related apps on your mobile device so we can eliminate account mis-match. There might be a possibility there are multiple Gmail accounts signed in on your mobile phone then, we can remove and re-add Google assistant on the Sonos app.
  • Here is the link on how to remove Google Assistant on the Sonos app. 
  • Also, here is the link on how to set up Google Assistant on the Sonos app. 
  • Try playing music again through voice command and see how it goes.

If the issue still persists, please submit a diagnostic (here’s how) so we can further check what is going on and proceed with other guides and troubleshooting steps.

Thanks

Userlevel 4
Badge +3

The Google Assistant integration is broken - in particular with Google Play Music / You Tube Music. See some of the other threads about this.