How to implement Spotify

Badge

Hi everyone, I am a developer and Im building a .NET app in order to play music from Sonos ZP100 using Spotify. Or alternatively with music plugged into an USB. I tried using the UPnP protocol but it doesn seem to be the right way to reproduce songs. I am only able to play pause stop seek next previous and volume controls but nothing else. Do somebody know how to do something similar?
The perfect example is the SONOS S1 app that after linking spotify account can reproduce songs

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

22 replies

Badge +17

Hi @Manatee19, welcome to the community.

Everything you’ve just described already exists on Sonos though one means or another. If you are looking to build your own controller app then I will point you in the direction of our Sonos Developer site that includes all the support and documention you need to integrate into the Sonos API. We also have a tag on Stack Overflow for any development questions.

Badge +20

I don’t know anything about about .NET but Python in conjunction with SoCo is very powerful.

Userlevel 7
Badge +23

Music playback is via UPnP, specifically AVTransport1.SetAVTransportURI. However the kicker is getting the correct url for a Spotify stream.

To do that you need to be a SMAPI client, and you can read about SMAPI at the link in the previous post.

However the real tricky bit is to get the user’s credentials from the Sonos system so you can authenticate with the Spotify SMAPI server. That requires you to decrypt the encrypted authentication data.

A few open source projects have avoided this problem by mixing the public Spotify API with UPnP, but this works with Spotify only (and maybe a couple of other services too). I am not aware of an open source project that includes the necessary decryption to work with every music service.