Skip to main content

I doubt this will cover any ground that hasn’t already been covered but I am at that stage where I just need to air all the problems and issues I have after the disastrous May update and all the subsequent updates.

I’m no expert in these matters but know enough to at least set up and use Sonos and also connect up a NAS drive to play my music library. All the speakers operate wirelessly. My broadband connection is fast and there are no reception dead spots in the house - it’s a bungalow. The speakers are 2 x Play 3 plus a Playbase, sub and 2 x One which form myTV room sound system.

Whilst the app has never been perfect, it was at least generally OK and fit for purpose. A few little niggles and issues here and there but nothing that couldn’t usually be fixed by simply resetting the app, rebooting the router or turning Sonos products off and back on.

After reading about all the problems with the new update I simply reverted back to the old version of the app. I have monitored the general views expressed over the last few months but recently deceived to update to the latest version of the app on my phone and on my iPad. This was predominantly so that I could reconnect my music library on my NAS drive which is a MyCloud. 

Since updating I’ve have had a whole myriad of issues. 

Music library - neither the Android phone app nor the IOS iPad app recognises my music library. It is though recognised on the WIndows desktop app.

Volume control - the various Sonos speakers constantly reset the volume to -1. If I then adjust the volume up, it slides back down to -1. It then takes several attempts for the volume to eventually decide to adjust to the correct volume number. The volume shown on the app is often not the true volume.