Skip to main content
Answered

I cannot connect another speaker to the system (even if I swap the speakers in order)

• 19 July 2024
  • 6 replies

Hello,

I have been using the system for several months (there were no problems and I was satisfied) and a few days ago a problem occurred. I haven't changed the network settings or anything in the Sonos system settings. Suddenly the speakers would not turn on and after a while they were not available in the system.

Standard procedures don't work. I am able to reset the speakers and add them again. However, it succeeds the first time. No additional (second) speakers can be successfully added to the system. It goes through the detection procedure, identification sounds, and when the screen for joining the Wi-Fi network appears, the procedure is interrupted. A message appears from the Sonos application that the speaker is added - but it may not be visible and you need to turn it off/on. Then the application displays another window to add the same speaker to the system when it is restarted. However, then you cannot reach the window with the identification sounds because the loudspeaker does not play them. The LED on the speaker is white (as if it was actually added).

Interestingly, having two Era 300 speakers, I am able to add them independently, when they are first - but even if I change the order, I never manage to add the second one.

The same thing happens when I try to connect Era 100 second, which I also have.

The problems don't seem to occur with the IKEA Symfonisk, which I have as my fourth speaker. He was not affected by the initial fault either. It didn't disappear from the system a few days ago.

I also did advanced tests with the router (I turned off 2.4Ghz Wi-Fi, leaving only 5Ghz, reset the router itself to factory settings, tested different channel settings for Wi-Fi and Sonons network). This had no effect.