Answered

Can you use volume controls without unlocking my Pixel phone

I'm unable to control the volume of my Sonos Move without unlocking my Pixel phone and opening the Sonos app. This can't possibly be right? I've updated the settings per the help article and restarted everything but it's still not working.

When you're listening to music you should just be able to pick up your phone and adjust the volume. Needing to unlock it and navigate to the Sonos app to change the volume is madness!  

This is my first time owning a Sonos product (I've been 100% Bose up to this point). Bose allows me to do this. Surely this is a bug? If not this thing is going back.

icon

Best answer by melvimbe 28 June 2022, 19:14

View original

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

11 replies

Userlevel 7

Follow the instructions in these two articles:

https://support.sonos.com/s/article/3690

https://support.sonos.com/s/article/3062

I had tried that already. You can't control the volume when the phone is locked or if you are in any app except the Sonos app. You have to either open the app or use the pull down notification which requires an additional tap to get to the volume control.

I'm sending this thing back. That is a serious usability flaw in my mind. Bose allows total control from a locked device. I can even move to the next song from the lock screen. When someone walks in the room and asks me a question I should be able to pick up my phone and turn down the volume from the buttons on the side of my phone. Having to unlock and navigate to a special control is ridiculous.

It's too bad. The sound is decent. 

Userlevel 6
Badge +12

Hey sonos volume 5 or mute volume don't need a device