Skip to main content
Answered

Bring back the ability to search music library

I have been using Sonos for several years, and it is attached to a streaming service and my music library on a USB drive, which has years worth of accumulated music, including a lot not available on streaming. I have just (8 May) updated to the new Sonos app. Now I can still see and trawl through my music library, but cannot search in it. The general search function just returns the streaming and Sonos radio results, and there’s no dedicated search for the music library. This effectively cuts off my access to my own music, by making it prohibitively difficult to find anything. Please bring this functionality back. I know you want to prioritise revenue generation, but this is disrespectful to your customers.

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

119 replies

Inceedibly idiotic, do they want to force people to go streaming? 

I have the music librry under My Sources, but I cant edit the folders.

The new App is a disaster.  I dont find it intuitive to navigate, its slow to respond, the sleep timer is gone, the myTuner radio service doesnt work….its awful.   

I have been a loyal sonos customer since 2006/7 and finally looks like I wont be replacing any of my products with sonos products.  

If you are going to trap people in an ecosystem then at least make sure it works for them.

This has been a dismal experience. I reckon I’ll give it another week and then junk the lot. I can currently play about 6 songs - none of which I especially like. Do you reckon there is any prospect of Sonos sacking off this ‘upgrade’ and returning to what they had previously?

Userlevel 3
Badge +2

No need to force people that way. It’s already what the vast, vast majority of people want and use.

Hi there,

Any news on the search function fot NAS music files?