Skip to main content
Answered

Bring back the ability to search music library

I have been using Sonos for several years, and it is attached to a streaming service and my music library on a USB drive, which has years worth of accumulated music, including a lot not available on streaming. I have just (8 May) updated to the new Sonos app. Now I can still see and trawl through my music library, but cannot search in it. The general search function just returns the streaming and Sonos radio results, and there’s no dedicated search for the music library. This effectively cuts off my access to my own music, by making it prohibitively difficult to find anything. Please bring this functionality back. I know you want to prioritise revenue generation, but this is disrespectful to your customers.

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

119 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge

I discovered this backward step when reading a review of the app, and of the new web based version for desktop - both of which lose this Music Library Search, the old desktop app still has it, but that is not being updated as far as I know, so at some point this will disappear.

I guess the tech reason for it is that all the data comes from the cloud so they’ll need to sync info from our local libraries to the cloud for the apps to see it.

As an aside, I have a Plex server running which also points to my Music Library - this is great for streaming your music on your phone away from home. Plex can be added to Sonos as a service and is searchable - not tested it much though.

Not ideal, but might be a good work around until they fix it (which I’m sure they will), I don't know what proportion of Sonos users use local Music Libraries a lot but my guess would be a reasonable minority so the app’s first release has been targeted at the majority (all a guess).

Yours hopefully,

Gav