Skip to main content
Answered

Bring back the ability to search music library

I have been using Sonos for several years, and it is attached to a streaming service and my music library on a USB drive, which has years worth of accumulated music, including a lot not available on streaming. I have just (8 May) updated to the new Sonos app. Now I can still see and trawl through my music library, but cannot search in it. The general search function just returns the streaming and Sonos radio results, and there’s no dedicated search for the music library. This effectively cuts off my access to my own music, by making it prohibitively difficult to find anything. Please bring this functionality back. I know you want to prioritise revenue generation, but this is disrespectful to your customers.

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

119 replies

Userlevel 1

Sonos have advised the following will be reinstated:

May 21

Screen reader for visually impaired customers

Adding and editing alarms 

Early June

Adding to queue and playing next

Mid-June

Local music library search and playback

Update Wi-Fi settings

It's a start even if it doesn't cover everything. I'll give it until the end of June otherwise I'll be going to a competitor. I've put up with the buggy apps and problematic updates for years but this could be the final straw.

It is a start, I agree. Not being able to search my massive library of music until Mid-June (if they stay on this timeline) is somewhat absurd.

I’m not sure if this is an issue in the Android world, but it would be nice if Apple’s ecosystem allowed users like us to downgrade iOS apps.

Userlevel 5
Badge +2