Skip to main content

I’m new to the Sonos world.  I have many ”lossless”  FLAC files(from CDs) on an external USB hard drive.  Is there a way for me to connect this directly with the Port to play these music files?  I don’t have an NAS, and would like to avoid using a computer in this chain if at all possible.  Right now, I plug this USB drive into the Blu Ray player and access the drive through the Blu-Ray menu.  

No, the Sonos plays music from a network location, and doesn’t have the ability to read directly from USB sticks. Many, although not all, router’s provide an opportunity to set up USB sticks as NAS drives when connected directly to the router’s USB port, you may want to check the manual for your own router to see if it supports such a feature. 

Many thanks.  It’s not a USB stick, but a small (2 TB) external hard drive.  I thought maybe I could use a USB to ethernet adapter - but it sounds like that won’t work.  I have thought about using one of the USB ports in the router (Arris BGW 210), but I wasn’t sure how I would get the Sonos Port to “see it” in the network.  Is there a “how to” somewhere on that subject?

I haven’t ruled out an NAS server, but my IT skills are fairly modest.  Are there recommendations anywhere on what kind of NAS and software would work well with the Sonos Port?  BTW, when I rip and play files Ion my Windows laptop , I use the J River Media Center.  Now, the FLAC files will play through my Sony BDP without the software, so I know that they can be played without the software if the device can play FLAC files.  Thanks again!

Either way, stick or HD, it needs to be on the network. It can’t be read directly by Sonos. If there is a ‘how to’, it would be specific to your router make and model. As I suggested, check the manual, or perhaps do a google search on your router and the term NAS setup,