Answered

14.18 Broke Desktop Volume Controller

• 19 October 2022
  • 75 replies

Show first post
This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

75 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +23

I’d assume it was a change in Windows, and not that someone changed the code in Sonos. Which suggests that Sonos may have been using a non-standard/approved way to enact the appropriate action. And when Windows “fixed” that code, it broke the way that Sonos was doing it….however, that’s merely a guess, based on the fact that I’d think Sonos hasn’t touched that area of the code in likely years. 

Highly unlikely, esp as the S1 app is still fine (also WPF) and this breakage came with the latest S2 app update. The PC app uses WPF for its UX, and WPF is frozen in time (well the version built into the OS). My day job is a large and complex WPF app and much as it has its issues, randomly breaking apps has not been its thing for many years.

Seems odd that Sonos would have been messing around in that area of the code, certainly...although it may presage some other change upcoming that we’re unaware of. Who knows. :)

Userlevel 1

Just adding myself to the list, I have the same issue.

• Loudspeaker symbol greyed out and no control possible
  • Rebooting all speakers and AMP does not solve the problem
  • I can get some of my rooms to work by deleting the group and adding them back together, but never all of them
  • The issue started exactly with the latest update
Userlevel 1
Badge

The issue is just not in the Windows version, in Windows it just happens to be most obvious. Controlling playback with pre-existing (before app start) groups in latest Android version has issues as well. Result is sudden end of playback on devices that already existed in that group before you added new devices AND adjust the volume, after moment or so.