Skip to main content

I don’t seem to be able to play any Podcasts. If I use iHeart Radio or Tune-in, if I select a podcast, the mobile app (iPhone 13.0.2, Sonos build 62187200) I get a message that says, ‘Unable to play <podcast>. Unable to connect to <service>.’ The weird thing is that I can stream radio stations and other content just fine, it fails only on podcasts. Any help would be appreciated. 

Hi @Formeroosid, welcome to the Sonos Community!

Would it be possible to start by rebooting your router (turning it off for about 15 seconds before turning back on), followed by each Sonos device?

When everything’s back online, are you able to play Podcasts again? Let us know how you get on :)

It wasn’t the router (I’m a network engineer). The only thing that finally worked was restarting my iPhone. Probably not the fault of the app because I tried force quitting it as well. 

Thanks fir the reply. 

Jamie

I’ve had a couple of cases where I needed to restart an iOS device in order to get it to properly AirPlay 2 to a Sonos target. I’m assuming some sort of issue in iOS, and have been hoping it was addressed in updates, since it hasn’t happened since last year for me. 

Hi @Formeroosid, welcome to the Sonos Community!

Would it be possible to start by rebooting your router (turning it off for about 15 seconds before turning back on), followed by each Sonos device?

When everything’s back online, are you able to play Podcasts again? Let us know how you get on :)

Sonos owners must have every sonos devices on a smart switch with all the rebooting it takes to listen to one song.

Never had the issue myself. But I am somewhat careful about my network, and restart it roughly every 5 weeks, to avoid network issues. I’ve also taken the extra step to reserve IP addresses for everything on my network, since the last router I had was troublesome after a reboot in saving the correct IP addresses.