Skip to main content
Hello Everyone,

I am new to the Sonos family, having just purchased a house with a built-in Sonos system (amp + 5 ceiling speakers throughout the house). We also purchased a Sonos Arc and Beam 2.

I have the system up and running, meaning that I can listen to music. However, I am having trouble identifying and isolating the built-in ceiling speakers by room. When I try to identify the architectural speakers using the S2 App, I hear the high pitched sound coming from the speaker, but then the App says that "No Sonos Architectural speakers detected".

What am I doing wrong here? I have tried the older App (S1), but it says that all of my components are up-to-date and compatible with the new App.

Surely, I am missing something. I just want to be able to control the volume by room (we have one in a bathroom, and it is super loud because I can't control it individually).

I should note that I can isolate the Sonos Arc, Beam 2 and the main system Amp, so I can control those individually, just not the architectural speakers connected to the main system Amp.

Any help is much appreciated!

Thanks!

Just because your in-ceiling speakers are connected to a Sonos Amp doesn’t mean that the speakers are Sonos Architectural speakers. More than likely they are third-party speakers not made by Sonos.

And if all five speakers are wired to one Amp, then all five speakers are acting as one zone meaning that they will all play the same content at the same volume.

Can you post a photo of the back of the “amp”?

Trueplay can only be performed with Sonos by Sonance in ceilings. Not other in ceilings.  https://www.sonos.com/en/shop/architectural

Just because your in-ceiling speakers are connected to a Sonos Amp doesn’t mean that the speakers are Sonos Architectural speakers. More than likely they are third-party speakers not made by Sonos.