Skip to main content
Answered

Suddenly an unsupported sample rate 11025 Hz?

Hi all,

I’ve been playing the same radio station for many years, but late last week I’ve suddenly started getting an error message: “Unable to play ‘KQED-FM’ - it is encoded at an unsupported sample rate 11025 Hz.”

I’ve tried rebooting everything from the modem on up with no success.

Other radio stations play just fine.  In my random search for similar local radio stations, I couldn’t find one that gave the same error message.  For example, KALW and KPFA play just fine, as do many others.

I don’t believe that that radio station (KQED) actually broadcasts at a low sample rate, and cannot find any evidence of them changing their stream.

That station plays fine over a browser. (meaning, nothing about my internet connection or router is specifically blocking the radio stream)

Any ideas what the problem could be?  I see a few other posts here with similar errors, but no solution is viewable.  What did ya’ll do to fix it?

Thanks!

:)

I can play KQED-FM. 

Are you selecting KQED as a Favorite or searching for it “raw”? If you are using a Favorite, the station may have reconfigured their server setup and your link now leads to an inappropriate stream. I simply asked Alexa for KQED-FM.

I miss my CR100.

Hi buzz,

I went to “Local Radio” and selected it there and it gave me the same silly error message.  I also went through iHeart Radio (not available on my CR100 though) and got the slightly different message of “the song is not encoded correctly.”  Other radio stations work fine.

This is really odd.  If other stations didn’t work, then it would make sense, but for this one station to cut out suddenly seems weird.

I am holding onto my CR100 with both hands and will not let it go until it is ripped away from me by force.  

Have you tried adding it as a direct stream?

https://streams.kqed.org/kqedradio?onsite=true