Skip to main content

I have been using Sonos since 2010 and have four different players ZP90, ZP120, Play 1 and Playbar.  It runs, obviously, under Sonos 1. Over the years it has all worked very well indeed although the CR 200 control unit, which was miles ahead of the phone app that I now have to use, has stopped charging which is unfortunate but Sonos had abandoned this excellent piece of kit years ago, I suppose, because it was regarded as too costly when an app was no extra cost.

I now have a problem that I am in the process of trying to solve.

The problem is that at random or irregular intervals the Playbar (and only the Playbar), which is attached to the TV and set to play the TV sound, suddenly and without warning plays music. This can happen perhaps three or more times a day or it might not happen for several days.  It is always one particular recording from my Music Library (Apocalyptica plays Metallica, since you asked, something of an acquir­­ed taste and not greatly appreciated by the OH), although not always the same track. Sonos shows no queue.  I can override the problem by reassigning the Playbar to TV, if I am there. As far as I know, this has never happened when the TV is actually being played.

As an aside, I have tried looking on a forum or two but this situation is not, in my view, amenable to concise and unambiguous search terms so I have not found anything although there may be something there somewhere; if so, a link would be appreciated.