Question

Any tips for folks without broadband?

• 5 October 2020
  • 6 replies

I have been trying for four hours (FOUR) to update my sonos system. I am on terrible and slow internet (throttled verizon mifi/wifi hotspot) and the Sonos update system seems like it was designed for high-bandwidth connections only. I am so frustrated with the software -- and by extension -- the hardware because of this issue. 

My internal-only wifi is rock solid (mesh network with like 6 eero devices). It’s only the connection to the internet that’s bad. It seems to me (I have been a technical manager in software) that the update package should be a one-time download, then the rest of the work of deploying the internet could happen on LAN, but the update process seems very fragile and seems like it needs regular upload/download connectivity to the internet. 

Sonos really needs to investigate why an update that the app says should take 2-3 minutes is for me taking hours and hours and multiple retries. What’s worse, none of my speakers are usable right now because the update keeps failing. I am really upset that I've spent more than $1000 on speakers that don't work without a broadband connection. 

system: 
- beam
- play5 gen2
- play5 gen2
- sonos one
- sonos one

Error code 30. 

https://support.sonos.com/s/article/4905?language=en_US

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

6 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +22

Run the update again and as soon as it fails submit a diagnostic and post the ID number here for Sonos support to look into.

thank you, stanley_4. i’ll try that.

Userlevel 7
Badge +23

In future, disable all updates (both Sonos device updates and mobile app updates). Then your poor broadband wont matter (unless you want to stream music of course).

Userlevel 7
Badge +17