Skip to main content

I inherited a restaurant with a sonos system in place.  I don’t know what the speaker types are but they are all wired to an amp which is connected to 2 ports, one labeled for half of the restaurant and the other the opposite half. Issue is, they both control random speakers throughout the restaurant, one speaker doesn’t even seem to be connected..  There aren’t many, maybe 20-25 speakers max.  I don’t really need 2 seperate channels.. It’s too small a place to play 2 different sounds at once. 

That’s not all.. What had happened was.. the amp was not the right size for the power and was making some wild noises so a friend offered to swap it out for another that could handle the input. (I don’t know crap about this so bear with me on the terminology. I’m a chef.. I’ll filet you a fish or make you a souffle without batting an eyelash but I am probably going to sound like an idiot going forward). 

The speaker wires are all jammed into the available black and red wire spots in the back.. only one of the sonos ports is now connected and the other just shows up on sonos, but after that was disconnected, 4 of my back speakers stopped putting out sound so I’m assuming they were on the other port? How do I combine them all on one since I don’t have that many so I can avoid having to figure out how to connect both sonos ports to this amp.

I also have the first amp, so if I have to keep them split, can I connect them each to their own amp so thing gets overworked?

MAKE IT MAKE SENSE!

Sounds like your friend needs to connect the speakers to whatever amplifier they set up.

Think of the Sonos Port as being a tape deck. It provides a single line out that supplies your amplifier. How your amplifier is connected to your speakers isn’t something we would have any knowledge about, since they’re downstream from your Sonos.