Question

NEWBIE HERE, IS THERE ANY WAY TO GET ALEXA TO PLAY LOCAL LOSSLESS FILES

• 2 January 2018
  • 8 replies

I bought an echo show and absolutely love it's voice capabilities to play music.
Unfortunately, it seems limited to only play files from services which do not support lossless (e.g. flac files).
I want to direct the music to play to a stereo system for better sound quality (I have a mcintosh amp and PSB speakers). I figured out a way to play locally stored files mp3 files over bluetooth to a toslink connector on my dac, and that sounds pretty darn good...

But I want to play locally stored flac files. Someone said that sonos has a device that has digital out that might work?

I also have heard about using skill "HEADBAND" with jriver, and haven't tried that yet (actually tried but failed, but i am sure i probably just need to configure my firewall/router), and I heard ROON is working on a method, but wondering if there is any tried and working methods YET??

IS THERE ANY WAY KNOWN TO PLAY LOCALLY STORED FLAC FILES TO A REGULAR STEREO SYSTEM CONTROLLED BY ALEXA?

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

8 replies

it looks as though you have a product "SONOS CONNECT" that might work?
Does it support DLNA and flac (maybe even dsd????)

And can the ALEXA SHOW use all the commands to it to play my DLNA files?
e.g.

play genre
play song
play artist
next song
volume 1-10
etc....

This would be great if it does?
Userlevel 7
Badge +21
There is no way to get Alexa to play ANY local files, whether they're FLAC, MP3, or AAC. Alexa has no way to access local music.