Can't connect AGAIN!

• 20 July 2023
  • 44 replies

Show first post

44 replies

Every single device (about 30) is on a static IP and set aside in its own range separate from my DHCP. 

Interesting.  Does this include Sonos devices?

One i am not a techie and the play 3 is old. I have had the same problem through out its life. I really dont care whos fault it is. What is a dhcp readable address and can it be done simply. Please give the steps to see it works for me. Appreciated.

Userlevel 7
Badge +18

Just to clarify, @phishmeister, you just have a single Play:1 if I read your post correctly? That’s quite an old device, with more limited network capability than more modern Sonos devices. Is this a recent acquisition for you or have you had it (and your connection problems) for a while? 

Some further context. The Play is connected to the network (it plays when I press the Play button on the speaker itself) but the app can’t find it!

Userlevel 7
Badge +22

Please give the steps to see it works for me. Appreciated.

As said the steps are router dependent but if you open your router’s web page and look for DHCP Settings it may have an internal help page or a link to the on-line help page that will walk you through it.

Pretty much what you do is put in the Sonos MAC address and the IP address you want it to use. Then power down everything and then bring it back up using the new addresses.

Userlevel 1

Yes, I know this doesn’t have Bluetooth. I just spent over an hour on the phone with customer support, and we could not resolve it, but that was basically what he was saying as well.

Setting up “reserved IP addresses in the DHCP table. “ is beyond my knowledge/capabilities. nor do I think I have a manual for my router somewhere. 
But thanks for replying  

I believe, Sonos, that you are missing the point.

Any decent system designer knows that simple connectivity for users who want to “listen”, not be a techie, is critical.