Answered

SONOS OUTDOOR SPEAKERS

• 30 April 2017
  • 38 replies

Userlevel 2
When will SONOS introduce outdoor speakers?
icon

Best answer by Peagle 5 February 2019, 16:39

View original

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

38 replies

I'm an owner and an installer of SONOS in Florida. Many of the properties I've connected with SONOS (as well as my own), have large outdoor spaces that are used 6-8 months of the year as dining areas or living rooms. All of them have roaming networks or extenders that provide excellent reception in there out door living areas. I have many clients with televisions and other equipment outdoors. I have at least 20 people with coral or concrete obstructions that prevent clean wiring pulls to use a connect amp remotely. All of them need a solution to this problem. Many of them are retirement age. They LOVE there SONOS, and they don't care what it would cost to have music in there courtyard area. We need a weather proof speaker.
At last rumor report, Sonos had considered, and stopped development of it. As to whether they've changed their mind, who knows. They don't tell the public in advance regarding new hardware, until such point as it's about to be sold, say a month in advance. See the recent Playbar, which was announced about 30 days out. Also, note their reticence to share the development timeline on their software. It just doesn't make any sense for them to share that, until they are ready to start drumming up sales.
Badge
Ditto the request for outdoor speakers...perhaps too hard to reliably mesh together and dependent upon wireless routers penetrating stucco etc?