Answered

Replicate audio from speakers?

• 10 January 2022
  • 9 replies

Hello everyone,

I’m new to the Sonos ecosystem. I’m potentially going to work with clients with Sonos systems. My job is to “listen” to what they play in order to make reports of what’s been listened. For this I need an output from the speakers to connect to our hardware, which has a minijack input.

If I’m not mistaken there’s no outputs available in any of the Sonos speakers, and it seems like the only way would be to purchase a Port and manage all connectivity from there, is that right? Is there any other option to catch the stream? Maybe via IP, bluetooth? I don’t need the best quality for this, and the Port seems like an overkill, pretty expensive solution.

Thanks a lot!

icon

Best answer by pwt 11 January 2022, 18:19

View original

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

9 replies

You could use a Port or Amp with a device in between to convert speaker level output to your minijack.    With either route though, you would need to factory reset and add add the Port/amp to your clients system  every time.  As well, the Port and Amp won’t necessarily pick up what’s playing on other Sonos speakers in the house if they aren’t grouped.

I’m not sure I get the point of this testing if quality isn’t the concern.  Are you looking at content?  Is this to develop marketing data or something of that nature?

Userlevel 7

As well, the Port and Amp won’t necessarily pick up what’s playing on other Sonos speakers in the house if they aren’t grouped.

I miss the Sonos usage statistics that used to be available under your account at sonos.com, albeit not as granular as digging down into specific tracks played.

I think privacy laws spelled the end of that feature. 

Thanks a lot for the answer @melvimbe !