Answered

Connecting turntable (Pro-Ject T1 Phono SB) to Sonos Port to B&O (BEOLAB 6000 active speakers)

• 12 February 2021
  • 13 replies

• Contributor I
  • 7 replies

Dear community,

I’ve been trying this setup.

Turntable via Line out (pre-amplified signal) via Sonos Port.

Sonos Port connect with RCA cable to each BEOLAB 6000, speakers set on line.

So far I have truly enjoyed what I've heard but I have a nagging issue. The vocals in all the records I've listed too just don't sound "right". The music is clear and the highs are especially pronounced, but the vocals are always subdued, sometimes sounding distant, almost in the background or sometimes slightly distorted. Same thing with an old and a new vinyl. I'm sure it has something to do with my turntable set-up process since this is my first time, so I'm hoping I can get some suggestions.

Many thanks for your support.

Regards.

icon

Best answer by Antifon 14 February 2021, 14:13

View original

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

13 replies

Userlevel 7

The turntable should be connected via LINE IN on the Port. Is the switch on back of the turntable switched to LINE OUT or PHONO OUT? Have you tried adjusting the Source Level in the Sonos app?

The turntable should be connected via LINE IN on the Port. Is the switch on back of the turntable switched to LINE OUT or PHONO OUT? Have you tried adjusting the Source Level in the Sonos app?

Hello,

Thanks for your reply.

The turntable is switched to LINE OUT:

The source level is set to max:

Regards.

Userlevel 7

Does adjusting the Source Level to a lower level improve the vocals? How about adjusting the EQ settings or turning Loudness on?

Does adjusting the Source Level to a lower level improve the vocals? How about adjusting the EQ settings or turning Loudness on?

Thanks for your reply.

Same problem with:

Regards.